DataLexing Support

DataLexing Support

Last updated on Jul 6, 2026

This article explains how Workspace Admins can create and manage teams, assign members, and grant team-based permissions at the application and table level.

πŸ”΄ Prerequisites

Steps

  1. Open the Workspace Admin Panel.

    1. Click the workspace icon (or arrow next to its name) in the top section of the sidebar.

    2. Click your profile picture (or arrow next to your name) in the bottom section of the sidebar.

  2. Click Admin/Admin Panel to open the Admin Panel.

    Workspace sidebar with Admin button

  3. Open the Teams tab.

    • You will see a list of existing teams in the workspace.

    Teams tab list

  4. Review team information.
    For each team, you can see:

    • Team name.

    • Workspace Role (Admin, Builder, No Role).

    • Number of assigned applications and tables.

    • Bin icon to remove the team from the workspace.

  5. Change a team workspace role.

    1. Click the arrow next to the role of a selected team.

    2. Choose the new role:

      • Admin – full workspace management access

      • Builder – can create and manage applications and views

      • No Role – access only via application or table permissions

    3. Team-based permissions apply automatically to all team members within the assigned applications and tables.

    Workspace role options

  6. Create a new team.

    1. Click Add team in the top-right corner.

    2. Enter a team name.

    3. You can choose the Team role.

    4. You can Add members, by searching and selecting them from the workspace members list.

    5. Confirm to create the team.

    6. The new team appears in the Teams list.

    Create team modal

    Team role and members configuration

  7. Add and remove members to a team.

    1. Open the selected team details view.

    2. Open the Members tab.

    3. Click Add member to team.

    4. Search users from the workspace members list.

    5. Select users to add them to the team.

    6. To remove current members click the bin icon next to those names.

    Add member to team

  8. Assign and remove application-level permissions to a team.

    1. Open the selected team details view.

    2. Open the Applications tab.

    3. Click Add team to application.

    4. Search the application within the workspace.

    5. Select to give the team members access to the application.

    6. Assign the role for the members within the application in the Role column:

      • Admin – can fully configure, edit and delete applications.

      • Builder – can fully configure and edit applications.

      • Editor – can fully edit data but not configure applications.

      • Commenter – can only read and comment on data.

      • Viewer – can only read data.

    7. To remove current applications click the bin icon next to those names.

    Team application permissions

  9. Assign and remove table-level permissions to a team.

    1. Open the selected team details view.

    2. Open the Tables tab.

    3. Click Add team to table.

    4. Search the table within the workspace.

    5. Select to give the team members access to the table.

    6. Assign the role for the members within the table in the Role column:

      • Admin – can fully configure, edit and delete tables.

      • Builder – can fully configure and edit tables.

      • Editor – can fully edit data but not configure tables.

      • Commenter – can only read and comment on data.

      • Viewer – can only read data.

    7. To remove current tables click the bin icon next to those names.

    Team table permissions

  10. Delete a team.

    1. Click the Bin icon next to the team.

    2. Confirm the action.

    3. The team is removed and all team-based permissions are revoked.

    Delete team confirmation

Notes

  • Workspace Admins cannot be added to teams.

  • Team permissions can be assigned only at the Application and Table level.

  • Personal permissions (except β€œNo Role”) always override team-based permissions.

  • Deleting a team does not remove users from the workspace.

  • Permission changes apply immediately and do not require saving.

Related articles

  • Workspace Admin Panel – Overview

  • How to Manage Members

  • How to Manage Guests

  • How to Manage Invites

  • Permissions & Roles β€” Reference